Chilmark's Three Disclosed Home Sales All Land Above Half a Million
CHILMARK -- Six property transfers were recorded in Chilmark between July 10 and Aug. 8, but only half listed a sale price, ranging from $506,387 to $2,000,000, according to Dukes County Registry of Deeds records.
MARKET OVERVIEW Six deeds were recorded in the four-week period. Of those, three disclosed a sale price and three did not. Among the disclosed sales, prices ranged from $506,387 to $2,000,000, with a median of $1,800,000. With only three priced transactions to compare, the sample is too small to characterize the broader market as active or quiet based on price alone; the six recorded transfers themselves represent the full extent of the period's deed activity.
TOP SALES The highest-priced transaction was at 37 N Abels Hill Rd, which sold for $2,000,000 on July 14. The sellers were listed as Donald Baer and Nancy Bard; the buyer was Goldman Sachs Bank USA.
The second-highest was at 1 Wooton Bassett Rd, which sold for $1,800,000 on July 22. The sellers were listed as Jorden W Temple and Jorden Eleanor; the buyer was Jorden Marion Telva.
The third disclosed sale was at 144 South Rd, which sold for $506,387 on July 28. The sellers were listed as Gregory J O'Connor and Michelle B O'Connor; the buyer was JPMorgan Chase Bank NA.
The remaining three transfers, at an unspecified Chilmark address, 43 Ocean View Farm Rd, and 42 Kenasaoome Way, did not disclose a sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN No street in the dataset had more than one recorded transfer. By price tier among the disclosed sales: one transaction fell in the $500,000-to-$1 million range (144 South Rd, at $506,387), and two fell above $1 million (1 Wooton Bassett Rd at $1,800,000 and 37 N Abels Hill Rd at $2,000,000). The three transfers without a disclosed price, an unspecified Chilmark address, 43 Ocean View Farm Rd and 42 Kenasaoome Way, cannot be placed into a price tier.
MARKET NOTES Three of the six recorded transfers involved trusts. The Chilmark address transfer was recorded as a resignation of trustee for the Shanthi Road Trust. The transfer at 43 Ocean View Farm Rd moved the property between two trusts tied to the same underlying estate, the Article Sixth Trust and the Article Ninth Trust under the will of Michael Fabrikant, with the surnames Dallos and Fabricant (also spelled Fabrikant in the trust names) appearing as trustees. The transfer at 42 Kenasaoome Way moved the property from Richard J. Kneeley and Jean Marie Kneeley individually to themselves as trustees. None of these three carried a disclosed price.
Two of the six transfers named a bank as buyer: JPMorgan Chase Bank NA at 144 South Rd and Goldman Sachs Bank USA at 37 N Abels Hill Rd. Deed records do not indicate the reason for these transfers.
No bed, bath or square-footage data was available for any property in this period's records, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons could be made.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 14 | 37 N Abels Hill Rd | Baer Donald; Bard Nancy | Goldman Sachs Bank Usa | $2,000,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 21 | 42 Kenasaoome Way | Kneeley Richard J; Kneeley Jean Marie | Kneeley Richard James Trs; Kneeley Jean Marie Trs | Not disclosed |
| Jul 22 | 1 Wooton Bassett Rd | Jorden W Temple; Jorden Eleanor | Jorden Marion Telva | $1,800,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 28 | 144 South Rd | Oconnor Gregory J; Oconnor Michelle B | Jpmorgan Chase Bank Na | $506,387 |
| Jul 28 | 43 Ocean View Farm Rd | Dallos Carol Trs; Article Sixth Trust Uwo Michael Fabrikant | Fabricant Peter Trs; Article Ninth Trust Uwo Michael Fabrikant | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 4 | (no address) | Higgins Robert W Trs; Shanthi Road Trust | Resignation Of Trustee | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.