Just two of seven August Edgartown deeds report a sale price
EDGARTOWN -- Seven property deeds were recorded in Edgartown last month, but only two disclosed a sale price, ranging from $400,000 for a Katama Road condominium unit to $1,356,000 for a West Tisbury Road property. The rest of the period's activity centered on trust transfers, a homestead filing and a municipal lien certificate rather than open-market sales with reported prices.
MARKET OVERVIEW The Dukes County Registry of Deeds recorded seven Edgartown transactions between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5. Of those seven, only two carried a disclosed sale price: $400,000 and $1,356,000. Based on those two figures, the price range for the period ran from $400,000 to $1,356,000, with a median of $878,000. Price was not disclosed for the other five transactions, which is common for deed records and does not necessarily indicate anything about those transactions individually. With five of seven deeds lacking price data, the period's overall market value cannot be fully judged from price alone. By raw count, seven recorded deeds is a modest volume for a four-week span, though deed volume alone does not indicate whether the market was active or quiet without additional context.
TOP SALES Two transactions in the dataset disclosed a sale price and are reported here in order of value. 177 West Tisbury Road sold for $1,356,000 on Aug. 11, the highest disclosed price of the period. The sellers were John Helzer and Christina Funston Thatcher Helzer. The buyers of record were Bank of America NA and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. 497 Katama Road, Unit G2, sold for $400,000 on Aug. 10. The seller was Columbia Partners LLC. The buyer of record was Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank. The remaining five recorded deeds did not disclose a sale price: 510 Edgartown Vineyard Haven Road (sold Aug. 17), 23 Vickers Street (Aug. 14), 96 Peases Point Way (Aug. 11), 25 Bold Meadow Road (Aug. 10) and one Edgartown property tied to a certificate of municipal liens (Aug. 17).
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN No two properties in this period's data shared a street name, so no street-level cluster emerged this month. Grouped by price tier, the two disclosed-price sales fall into separate bands: 497 Katama Road Unit G2 at $400,000 sits under the $500,000 mark, while 177 West Tisbury Road at $1,356,000 sits above $1 million. No sales fell in a $500,000-to-$1 million tier among the disclosed prices. The remaining five properties, on Edgartown Vineyard Haven Road, Vickers Street, Peases Point Way, Bold Meadow Road and an unlisted Edgartown address, cannot be placed into a price tier because their sale prices were not disclosed.
MARKET NOTES Three of the seven recorded transactions were transfers within families or into trusts rather than sales to outside buyers. John L. Gilmour transferred 23 Vickers Street to himself and Kelly A. Gilmour as trustees. Lori T. Bass transferred 25 Bold Meadow Road to S. Fain Hackney and Isabelle Lew as trustees. And a Peases Point Way property held in trust by Jan Greis and Lana Marie Sorensen was the subject of a recorded declaration of homestead rather than a transfer to a new owner. Two other recorded documents were not conventional sales to individual buyers: one Edgartown deed was tied to a certificate of municipal liens, and both disclosed-price transactions, at West Tisbury Road and Katama Road, named a bank as the buyer of record, Bank of America NA and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. in one case and Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank in the other. Only one property in the dataset, 497 Katama Road Unit G2, was identified as a condominium unit; property type was not specified for the other six addresses. Bed, bath and square footage figures were not available in the deed data for any of the seven transactions.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 497 Katama Rd Unit G2 | Columbia Partners LLC | Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank | $400,000 |
| Aug 10 | 25 Bold Meadow Rd | Bass Lori T | Hackney S Fain Trs; Lew Isabelle Trs | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 177 West Tisbury Rd | Helzer John; Helzer Christina Funston Thatcher | Bank Of America Na; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $1,356,000 |
| Aug 11 | 96 Peases Point Way | Greis Jan Trs; Sorensen Lana Marie Trs | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 23 Vickers St | Gilmour John L | Gilmour John L Trs; Gilmour Kelly A Trs | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | (no address) | Hendricks Donald L Trs; Lodovico Tina M Trs | Certificate Of Municipal Liens | Not disclosed |
| Aug 17 | 510 Edgartown Vineyard Haven Rd | Wetzler Michelle L | Eastport Holdings LLC | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.